Even more hardware

Well, it has been a while.. My 500GB HDD in my media center PC broke the other day. I managed to get most of the data I needed off it, but now it is time to replace it.

The list of hardware in this purchase :

HP Microserver : I already have extra 4GB RAM waiting for it. This server will first be used with VMWARE esxi (to see if I can host windows 7 for access by 2 older laptops) and a test of WHS 2011.

2x2TB WD HDD – for all the media etc (to be managed by WHS2011)

500GB laptop drive for the HTPC (my ASROCK 330HT) as a replacement for the one that broke. ( the old one will be RMA’d back to the manufacturer.

I’ll write up my experience with ESXi in a later post.

This entry was posted in Hardware, Media Center, Media streaming, Software, Windows 7 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.